In 1978 the public administrations of Venice (the Town Council, Provincial Authorities, Chamber of Commerce, Tourist Boards) joined together with the Andriana Marcello Foundation in a “Consortium for Burano Lace”. This was the beginning of a campaign to revive and re-evaluate this art: the archives of the old School, full of important documents and drawings, were re-ordered and catalogued; the building was restructured and transformed into an exhibition site. This was the beginning of the Lace Museum.
The museum is located at the historic palace of Podestà of Torcello, in Piazza Galuppi, Burano, seat of the famous Burano Lace School from 1872 to 1970. Rare and precious pieces offer a complete overview of the history and artistry of the Venetian and lagoon’s laces, from its origins to the present day are on display, in a picturesque setting decorated in the typical colors of the island.